We support teams to develop proposals for the Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE).

The Innovative Placements and Capacity Expansion (IPCE) team at ARU

The Higher Education Academy has established a team-based award scheme, the Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE), funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland.

The Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE) recognise that positive student experience depends on the innovation and creativity of the whole team. ARU’s Health, Education, Medicine and Social Care (HEMS) team won a Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence in 2022.

The Innovative Placements and Capacity Expansion (IPCE) team from HEMS won their Collaborative Award by developing innovative and different approaches and models for student placement provision across health and social care settings.

Working closely and collaboratively with external stakeholders across the NHS and private, independent and voluntary sector in the East of England, the knowledge, skills and values of the team enabled them to respond to national and local challenges in a rapidly changing placement landscape caused by Covid.

Their innovative approaches and models for placement provision included developing a menu of short ‘spoke’ placements, reviewing alternative models for calculating placement capacity, expanding placements in the private, independent and voluntary organisations and developing virtual placements.

It was imperative to the team to enhance the quality of educational experience for our healthcare students, whilst safeguarding and protecting the public and securing a future workforce.

Awards criteria

  • Criterion 1: Excellence in the team's collaborative approach – evidence of excellence in the team’s approach to working collaboratively; commensurate with their context and the opportunities afforded by it.
  • Criterion 2: Excellence in the impact of collaborative working – evidence of the team having a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning beyond their immediate academic or professional area.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) is a highly prestigious Advance HE award that recognises, rewards and celebrates individuals who are judged to have made an outstanding impact on the student learning experience.

Our university is keen to support our excellent teachers in gaining recognition for their practice through the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS).

Congratulations to Prof Claire Pike, Deputy Dean (Education) in the Faculty of Science and Engineering, and Professor of Education Enhancement and Leadership, who was awarded a National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) in 2022.

Prof Pike’s National Teaching Fellowship Award recognises her leadership of curriculum development, academic quality, student achievement and the student experience across a wide range of Science and Engineering courses and disciplines, and her contributions at an institutional level to ARU’s educational strategy, mission and equality, diversity and inclusion work.

She joins Prof Catherine Lee (AHESS), Dr Beatriz Acevedo (FBL and AL&T) and Sian Shaw (FHEMS, Director of Teaching, Learning & Assessment) who won their awards in 2021 and 2020, Prof Alison Greig (Global Sustainability Institute) who won her award for teaching excellence in 2019, and Dr Andrew Middleton (AL&T) in 2016.

Other successful colleagues during their careers at ARU include Dr Sally Everett (2017), Dr Mark Kerrigan (2016) and Dr Debbie Holley (2014). Dr Alex Moseley (AL&T) won his award in 2012.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) was established in 2000 and is now a proactive community of National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) that benefits the individual award winners, their teams and institutions, and the higher education sector. Internally, our NTFs form a supportive group that promotes teaching excellence.

Each year universities are invited to nominate up to three members of staff to be considered for a National Teaching Fellowship. Full details of the award are available on the Advance HE website.

Awards criteria

  • Individual excellence – evidence of enhancing and transforming the student learning experience commensurate with the individual's context and the opportunities afforded by it.
  • Raising the profile of excellence – evidence of supporting colleagues and support for student learning. Demonstrating impact and engagement beyond immediate academic or professional role.
  • Developing excellence – evidence of commitment to ongoing professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support.

We offer individual support for colleagues who wish to be considered for submission as one of our candidates for a National Teaching Fellowship, with previous winners normally assisting in this mentoring role.

This year’s Vice Chancellor’s Awards are now closed. Read about our winners here.

These awards at ARU are designed to help us publicly celebrate and acknowledge individuals and teams whose outstanding contributions have helped us achieve our ambitions.

We encourage nominations from across ARU, from all professional services and faculties, and we are really keen to recognise individuals and teams whose work might not be as visible as that of other colleagues.

This year the awards are grouped in categories covering education, research and professional contributions.

Guidance and application forms are available on the staff intranet. Please note the deadline for submissions has now closed.

Award categories

Excellent Education

Awards in this category seek to celebrate individuals or teams who have contributed to our ambition for ‘an outstanding and inclusive educational experience for our students.

  • Early Career Excellent Education
  • Sustained Excellence in Education
  • Outstanding Leadership in Education
  • Award for Collaborative Activities

Outstanding Research and Innovation

Awards in this category seek to celebrate individuals or team who have contributed to our ambition for ‘transformative research and innovation’.

  • Outstanding Early Career Researcher
  • Outstanding Established Researcher
  • Outstanding Doctoral Supervision
  • Outstanding Research Impact
  • Outstanding Business Engagement

Outstanding Professional Contributions to ARU

Awards in this category seek to celebrate contributions which help to create a vibrant university community of students, staff and the wider ARU community; distinctive and people-facing approaches to solving challenges; effective, efficient and sustainable use of resources and being innovative.

Eligibility criteria

Colleagues from all professional services as well as academic staff are eligible to apply for a Vice Chancellor's Award.

The Awards will be interpreted in the broadest sense subject to the VC Award Guidance for each category.

Take a look at our most recent winners.