Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.

ARU alumni continue Klaus Flugge Prize success

Published: 18 May 2023 at 11:35

A collage of covers from books shortlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize 2023

Children’s Book Illustration graduates nominated for illustrious prize

Four Anglia Ruskin University (ARU) graduates have made the five-person shortlist for this year’s prestigious Klaus Flugge Prize, having been selected from a longlist of fifteen debut picture book illustrators.

Recognised by the judging panel for works which demonstrate freshness, technical skill and creativity in storytelling, Alice Courtley (Lost in the City, Orchard Books), Mariajo Ilustrajo (Flooded, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books), Gill Smith (Saving the Butterfly, Walker Books) and Paula White (The Baker by the Sea, Templar Books) all studied MA Children’s Book Illustration at ARU. 

The nominees will discover who has won the top £5,000 prize at a ceremony in London on Wednesday, 13 September.

This great performance for alumni follows a similar showing in 2022, when five of the six illustrators to make the final cut were ARU graduates.

Shelley Jackson, Associate Professor and Course Leader for MA Children’s Book Illustration at ARU, said:

“We are, once again, absolutely thrilled to have so many graduates shortlisted for the prestigious Klaus Flugge Prize.

“What an honour for them to be nominated as the most exciting newcomers to children’s book illustration! We are very grateful to the judges for recognising our graduates’ talent and wish all those on the shortlist the best of luck.”

The 2023 judges are award-winning illustrator Lydia Monks; 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize winner Joseph Namara Hollis; Urmi Merchant, founder and owner of independent bookshop Pickled Pepper; and Dr Sarah McConnell of Nottingham Trent University. 

Chairing this judging panel is Julia Eccleshare, Director of Hay Children’s Festival, who said:

“From a very strong longlist, our judges have selected a shortlist that celebrates community, creativity and adventure. 

“The five illustrators are technically accomplished but bring a freshness which is very exciting.”


Established in 2016, the prize is dedicated to Klaus Flugge and his work in founding the leading independent children’s publisher Andersen Press.