Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.

Alumni Awards 2022 winners

After holding our Vice Chancellor's Outstanding Alumni Awards virtually last year due to the pandemic, we were delighted to welcome alumni back on campus on Thursday 28 April for the first time since 2018.

It was an opportunity to celebrate their achievements and recognise the incredible talent and knowledge that is so clearly evident amongst our Alumni Network.

The ceremony was held at our Chelmsford campus, and was compered by Professor Yvonne Barnett, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation). During the course of the ceremony, we celebrated nine winners and ten runners up.

Alumni Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Winner – Jeff Webster
BSc (Hons) Building Surveying 2013

Runner Up - Aneela Rose
BA (Hons) Business Studies 1995

Runner Up - Rosie Axon
MA Music Therapy 2010

Alumni Voluntary Service Award

Winner –Jose T. Molina Casares
Master of Business Administration 2005

Runner Up - Oa Hackett
CHE Charity and Social Enterprise Management 2019

Runner Up - Paul Watson
Registered Nurse Dip HE 2004
BA Hons SCPHN (SN) 2007
PGDip 2015

Alumni Public Service Award

Winner - Professor Roy Sleator
MBA Educational Leadership and Management 2021

Runner Up - James Tyrrell
BA (Hons) Business Administration 2002


Runner Up - Daniel Hardiman-McCartney
BOptom (Hons) Optometry 2004

Alumni Contribution to Culture Award

Winner – Ricardo P. Lloyd
Master of Business Administration (International) 2018

Runner Up – Lizzie Knott
BA (Hons) Illustration 2020

Alumni Rising Star Award

Winner – Jodie Howard
BA (Hons) Illustration 2020

Runner Up – Muhammad Shoaib Shahid
BSc (Hons) Business Management 2018

Alumni Sustainable Champion Award

Winner – Steven Allain
BSc (Hons) Zoology 2015

Runner Up – Luis Gustavo de Oliveira
MSc Animal Behaviour: Applications for Conservation 2019

Runner Up - Lee Smith
BSc (Hons) Architectural Technology 2007

Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner – Lois Brown
MSc Diagnostic Radiography 2005