Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.

Five of the best for illustration prize

Published: 28 February 2024 at 09:50

Montage of Klaus Flugge 2024 longlisted publications

ARU graduates make Klaus Flugge 2024 longlist

We’re delighted to announce that five graduates from Cambridge School of Art have made the longlist for this year’s Klaus Flugge Prize.

Olya Anima (The Slug and the Snail), Bia Melo (The Dream Book), Kate Rolfe (Wolf and Bear), Angela Vives (Bright Stars of Black British History) and Kate Winter (The Fossil Hunter) are all alumni from our MA Children’s Book Illustration degree course.

With seventeen illustrators chosen this year, this means our graduates make up twenty nine percent of the longlist!

The Klaus Flugge Prize was established in 2016 to honour the founder of publisher Andersen Press, and is the only award to specifically recognise a published picture book by a debut illustrator. The winning illustrator receives a cheque for £5,000.

The past three winners of the prize have also been alumni from Cambridge School of Art: Mariajo Illustrajo in 2023; Joseph Namara Hollis in 2022; and Flavia Z Drago in 2021.

The shortlist for the prize will be announced on 15 May 2024.