Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.

Alumni Awards 2023 winners

We were delighted to celebrate a number of inspirational success stories from our alumni at our Vice Chancellor’s Outstanding Alumni Awards. Alumni who have achieved success and made a difference in their careers and lives returned to ARU for an awards celebration.

The achievements of ARU alumni in their respective fields were showcased through their nominations in seven different categories, highlighting their outstanding accomplishments.

The ceremony was held at our Chelmsford campus, and was compered by Prof Aletta Norval, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Education). During the course of the ceremony, we celebrated seven winners and eight runners up.

Alumni Voluntary Service Award

Winner – Mary Stretch
PGC Education (Secondary) 2001

Runner up – Agrieneth Masule
MSc International Social Welfare and Social Policy 2019

Alumni Public Service Award

Winner – Mark Songhurst
BA (Hons) European Business 1999

Runner up – Maudrian Burton
MSc Advanced Practice 2017

Runner up – Beau-Jessica Roberts
MA Dramatherapy 2013

Alumni Rising Star Award

Winner – Aining Wen
MA in Children's Book Illustration 2017

Runner up – Aisha MK Bashir
Bachelor of Laws 2018

Alumni Contribution to Culture Award

Winner – Joseph A Simpson
BSc (Hons) Audio & Music Technology 2012

Runner up – Martin Steers
BA (Hons) Communication Studies 2010

Alumni Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Winner – Tanyaporn Pichetpongthorn
MSc International Business 2016

Runner up – Simon Preston
MBA in Educational Leadership and Management 2022

Alumni Sustainability Champion Award

Winner – Katherine Hasegawa Perez
BSc (Hons) in International Business Management 2020

Runner up – Dr Julie Humphreys
MA in Human Resource Management 2011

Runner up – Natalie Fox
MSc in Sustainability 2021

Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner – Michelle Brown OBE
LPC Legal Practice 1997