Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.

Students land top Royal Television Society prizes

Published: 19 March 2018 at 09:15

Mihaela Motica, director of 'I', holding her award.

Anglia Ruskin wins best student documentary, short feature and drama awards

Talented Anglia Ruskin University students won three of the five main student awards up for grabs at last night’s Royal Television Society East Awards.

BA (Hons) Film and Television Production students Theo Douchand, Ed Armstrong and Billy Stephens won best documentary with “Rebirth”, while Mihaela Motica won best short feature for “I”, a film on three screens.

And Alina Bobilova, Theo Douchand, Mehdi Iromlou, Alessandro Piccato and Matt Burfield took home the best drama prize for “Hello Friend”.  Anglia Ruskin also had a fourth film, “Bite”, nominated in the short feature category, as well as two craft nominations, at the awards event held at Norwich University of The Arts.

Student drama winners holding their award.

Sophie Jackson, Course Leader for BA (Hons) Film and Television Production at Anglia Ruskin said: 

“I’m thrilled to see so many of our Film and Television Production students receiving recognition for their work at the RTS East awards. They work really hard and are great collaborators, and this shows in the quality of their films.”

Dr Shreepali Patel, Director of Anglia Ruskin’s StoryLab research institute, said: 

Student factual winners holding their award
“This was the first year the Film and Television Production course has submitted films to these awards and the Royal Television Society judging panel were blown away by the quality of the films and the filmmakers. 

“These awards, added to the numerous national awards that the film and television undergraduate and postgraduate courses are collecting, enhance Anglia Ruskin’s reputation for filmmaking and storytelling in all formats. They also reflect the calibre of teaching at the Cambridge School of Art, where students are taught by academics with a professional background in film and television.”

Images (top to bottom): Student short feature winner - Mihaela Motica, Director of 'I'; Student drama winners (left to right) - Theo Douchand, Director, Alessandro Piccato, Cinematographer, and Alina Bobilova, Producer of 'Hello Friend'; Student factual winners (left to right) - Billy Stephens, Editor, and Theo Douchand, Director of 'Rebirth'.