Writtle University College and ARU have merged. Writtle’s full range of college, degree, postgraduate and short courses will still be delivered on the Writtle campus. See our guide to finding Writtle information on this site.


Originally established in 1858, ARU has grown to become one of the largest universities in the East of England.

Based in Cambridge, Chelmsford, Peterborough and Writtle, our mission is – and has always been – to transform lives through innovative, inclusive and entrepreneurial education and research.

Students in a lecture theatre - one turning towards the camera

University strategy and leadership

Our ten-year strategy, Designing our future, sets out our vision and ambitions. Download the strategy, learn more about our University's leadership team, and view ARU's annual report and accounts.

'Designing our future' strategy Leadership Board of Governors
Group of students in a lecture

Policies, procedures and regulations

As a University, we’re committed to sustainability, promoting equality, and supporting students' access to higher education. Read more about these commitments and others.

Polices, procedures and regulations

Transparency return

These pages contain general information about students who've applied to, joined and studied at ARU, including (where known) their results.

View summary and full data

Subsidiary companies

Find out more about the eight subsidiary companies forming the Anglia Ruskin University group.

Our subsidiary companies

ARU Foundation

The ARU Foundation is an exempt charity established to distribute bequests and donations made to our University. We provide bursaries and awards to students.

More about ARU Foundation