National Teaching Fellowships

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) is a highly prestigious Advance HE award that recognises, rewards and celebrates individuals who are judged to have made an outstanding impact on the student learning experience.

Our University is keen to support our excellent teachers in gaining recognition for their practice through the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS).

Congratulations to Professor Claire Pike, Deputy Dean (Education) in the Faculty of Science and Engineering, and Professor of Education Enhancement and Leadership, who was awarded a National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) in 2022. Professor Pike’s National Teaching Fellowship Award recognises her leadership of curriculum development, academic quality, student achievement and the student experience across a wide range of Science and Engineering courses and disciplines, and her contributions at an institutional level to ARU’s educational strategy, mission and equality, diversity and inclusion work.

She joins Professor Catherine Lee (FHEMS), Dr Beatriz Acevedo (FB&L and AL&T) and Sian Shaw (FHEMS, Director of Teaching, Learning & Assessment) who won their awards in 2021 and 2020 and Professor Alison Greig (Global Sustainability Institute) who won her award for teaching excellence in 2019 and Dr Andrew Middleton (AL&T) in 2016. Other successful colleagues during their careers at ARU include Dr Sally Everett (2017), Dr Mark Kerrigan (2016) and Dr Debbie Holley (2014). Dr Alex Moseley (AL&T) won his award in 2012.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) was established in 2000 and is now a proactive community of National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) that benefits the individual award winners, their teams and institutions, and the higher education sector. Internally, our NTFs form a supportive group that promotes teaching excellence.

Each year universities are invited to nominate up to three members of staff to be considered for a National Teaching Fellowship. Full details of the award are available on the Advance HE website.

Awards criteria

The criteria for the awards are as follows:

  • Individual excellence – evidence of enhancing and transforming the student learning experience commensurate with the individual's context and the opportunities afforded by it
  • Raising the profile of excellence – evidence of supporting colleagues and support for student learning. Demonstrating impact and engagement beyond immediate academic or professional role
  • Developing excellence – evidence of commitment to ongoing professional development with regard to teaching and learning and/or learning support

We offer individual support for colleagues who wish to be considered for submission as one of our candidates for a National Teaching Fellowship, with previous winners normally assisting in this mentoring role.

Key dates 2022/23

  • Wednesday 5 October 2022 – Distribution of Call for Expressions of Interest by AL&T
  • Friday 4 November 2022 (12pm) – Deadline for candidates to send Expressions of Interest to AL&T: [email protected]
  • Wednesday 16 November 2022 – Prospective candidates notified of this year’s selection decisions
  • Monday 21 November 2022 – Initial meeting with institutional mentor for teaching excellence for selected team
  • Friday 10 February 2023 – Deadline for nominated team to send Final Internal Submission to AL&T
  • Friday 17 February 2023 – AL&T to send Final Internal Submission to Vice Chancellor for signing
  • Wednesday 8 March 2023 – University submission to AdvanceHE

National Teaching Fellows Guidance Document (PDF)

Expression of Interest for National Teaching Fellows form (Word doc)

Please contact Anglia Learning & Teaching with any queries: [email protected]